Walter Mitty & His Makeshift Orchestra

dustpic

Name: Dustin Cole Hayes

Current location: Portland, Or / Fuel Cafe

Hometown: Newport Beach, Ca

1. Tell me your ideal morning. 

It’s raining. I walk down the street to my cafe and get a poppyseed bagel and coffee, read a couple hours, then come home and make music with Milk.

2. What did you have for dinner last night?

I made a bowl of beans with tomato and spinach, and a few corn tortillas. It was alright. Slightly too minimalist for me.

3. When or where do you feel the most alive? 

I feel most alive when I am working on/towards something that is bigger than myself, especially if I am working with people I love. My two best examples from this summer would be when I backpacked a portion of the John Muir Trail with a dear friend, or when I spent a month locked in my house recording a new record with my childhood best friends.

4. What is the most admirable human characteristic? 

Its too hard to choose the ‘most’ desirable, but I really admire selflessness in other people. When someone can overcome their own personal issues for the sake of helping someone else or accomplishing larger goals- that’s really cool to me. It’s something I continuously strive for because I have found it is a direct route to happiness.

5. If____________, then____________. 

If you find yourself bored, then you might be a boring person.

Photo 46

Name: Milk Flud

Current Location: Portland, OR

Hometown: Thousand Oaks, CA

1. Tell me your ideal morning.

Waking early and naturally, not feeling the negative side effects of whatever last nights activities were. Eating something small then going for a long bike ride with the weather being cold and a little rainy but with small pockets of sun. Come home to an empty house and set up in the basement with lots of coffee and make music until I get hungry.

2. Describe the last time you felt truly excited.

I get excited when i get inspired by something, and the thing that inspires me the most is seeing my friends create. There have been a couple moments recently where my friends have blown me away with their music/art that got me truly excited. Or maybe when I went to work last week at my job as a doggy daycare attendant and all my favorite dogs were there.

3. How do you take your coffee?

Black, like my metal. I used to be in a 2 person black metal band in high school.

4. What is the most admirable human characteristic?

A strong feeling of self worth.

5. Sometimes_____________after___________.

Sometimes you think too hard about a question and after that you are usually not happy with whatever answer you come up with.

Walter Mitty and His Makeshift Orchestra is a punk-y, folk-y, sing-a-long-y, all-around-fun West Coast band living in Portland, Oregon. I am a huge fan of their catchy tunes and you should be too. You should also be following their entertaining blog or liking them on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

