Joel

Hometown: Elk Grove, CA

Current location: Beijing, China

1. Tell me your ideal morning.

Wake up well-rested and REALLY early. Such a great feeling. The days seem so much longer and I can go at my own pace. Run somewhere, shower, take my time eating, BREW COFFEE (I really dig the ritual…). So long as I don’t have to rush out the door bleary-eyed, I’m pretty happy.

2. Why are you living in your “current location?”

Loaded question! I love China and love working with Chinese people. It’s challenging because they speak Chinese (surprise!), but it’s great practice for me. I love meeting new friends here and I like all the opportunities to adventure to unfamiliar places and push my comfort zone. I get distracted easily by short-term indulgences, so leaving the States for a while always helps me refocus my attention on the things that make me most happy in life.

3. Without ________, there is no __________. (fill in the blanks)

Without water, there is no rain.

4. How do you take your coffee?

BLACK, plain, and usually icy cold. omnomnom

5. I know that _________. (fill in the blank)

I know that the only person I should try to be better than is the person I was yesterday, a positive attitude makes a huge difference, and everyone wants to be happy.

Joel chronicles his adventures in China on his tumblr.

Leave a Reply

