Mathilde

Image

Hometown: Paris, France

Current location: New York City, USA

1. Tell me your ideal morning. 

On an ideal(ist) morning, I am biking home after a night out, at the break of dawn in Paris. Slowly, I drive up the river, with the wind blowing in my hair, then I go around the Arc de Triomphe when it is totally empty – twice, because once is just not enough. Then, I make a right on the avenue de Wagram, which goes downhill, and stop at the bakery of rue Darue to buy a baguette that the baker himself has just taken out of the oven, and sells me with a disapproving look on his face. If it’s a week night, and I have to go to work right after, that’s an even more ideal morning!

2. Why are you living in your “current location?”

Because I think New York City is the greatest city in the world. Its way of life is in adequacy with who I am today, and what I want to do in the future. I have been living here for two years now, and it has shaped my personality, challenged my ambitions, and given me the means to grow personally and intellectually.

3. Without _______, there is no ________. (fill in the blanks) 

Without arms, there is no chocolate. It’s the literate translation of “Pas de bras, pas de chocolat” the French equivalent for “No pain, no gain”.

4. How do you take your coffee? 

Black espresso. In any type of container. Except stir foam. Stir foam makes me angry.

5. I know that __________. (fill in the blank) 

…we’re born to be alive.

Mathilde documents her life here.

Leave a Reply

